This course is designed to satisfy the requirements to obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry License. The course consists of both classroom work and range work. Students will be required to successfully complete the course and pass both a written examination and a practical range proficiency test. Students must read, write and understand English and be able to follow all of the directions given by the training staff.ourse attendees must pass a practical proficiency test on the firing range, scoring no less than 70% with a minimum of 30 rounds, fired at distances of 5 yards, 7 yards, and 10 yards, in addition to the classroom portion, in order to be certified as having completed the course. Upon course completion, for either the eight (8) hour or full (16) hour program, the course attendee will receive a “Certificate of Course Completion”.
The State of Illinois requires combined firearms training of 16 hours in order for an individual to apply for an Illinois Concealed Carry License. If you have no firearms training at all, you need to take both Day 1 and Day 2.
Individuals who have prior firearms training, that the ISP has listed as approved, may use up to eight (8) hours of firearms training obtained prior to the effective date of the “Firearm Concealed Carry Act” as credit towards the 16 hour training requirement. Check with the Illinois State Police to see what qualifies.
Security Guard Licensing Group has been an active fighter for your rights to carry concealed. Working with Illinois Carry, the Illinois
State Rifle Association and the National Rifle Association, we have worked for years for concealed carry. In addition, SGLG is a respected training facility, that has been training law enforcement as a State of Illinois licensed facility since 2000.
We do not teach out of hotels or rented halls. We are an established training facility, with classrooms and training technology. We have been fighting for concealed carry for years our instructors traveling across the State of Illinois to educate people on concealed carry before the law was passed, and working with our state legislature to get working concealed carry law passed.
SGLG has divided the 16 hour training program into two segments, each done on a separate day. Individuals who need to take the entire 16 hour program may register to do so for each day, on dates of your choosing [Day 1 & Day 2], while individuals who only need an additional eight (8) hours may register only for one of the two days [Day 2 only].
Prospective students must arrive for class promptly; students that arrive late will not be given admittance and will need to re-schedule for a different course date.
Upon successful completion of the entire program, students will receive a “Certificate of Course Completion” signed by the Firearm Instructor. This certificate is proof of successful completion of the course. A copy of the certificate is to accompany the student’s application for a concealed carry license.
At least 21 years of age.
Possess a valid State ID or Driver’s License.
Not be prohibited by State or Federal Law from legally possessing a firearm.
Physically capable of safely and effectively operating a firearm.
Own a handgun and a compatible concealment holster.
Registered through the online system before class begins.
Your unloaded and cased firearm, and compatible concealment holster.
At least 50 rounds of ammunition.
A valid State ID Card or Driver’s License.
Reliable personal transportation to and from the range.
Students are to bring their unloaded and secured firearms to class. Ensure that you have your valid “Firearm Owner Identification Card” in your possession. No live ammunition is allowed in the classroom. Double-check and ensure that your firearm is unloaded and secure prior to transporting it.
In order to legally transport your firearm, it must be completely unloaded and in the case. The cased firearm and boxed ammunition must be locked in the trunk of your vehicle or, if in an SUV, placed in a locked container in the rearmost section of your SUV.
The State of Illinois allows licensed fingerprint vendors to conduct fingerprinting services for the Illinois Concealed Carry Permit. The state-licensed firm “Biometric Impressions” will be on-site to conduct live-scan fingerprinting for applicants. They will electronically scan your fingerprints and transmit them to the Illinois State Police for processing.
All students will be expected to follow the instructions of the instructors and staff during the administration of the course. Firearms safety rules will be reviewed with each student, as well as the Academy rules that apply to all students, regardless of course. Any student that fails to follow the instructions of the instructor or staff, or is otherwise disruptive of class, will immediately be removed from the class.
Students will need to bring a hat with a bill (baseball-type hat) to wear at the range. Eye and ear protection will be provided at the range for students who do not have their own.
The Academy facility is a state-licensed facility, and as such, individuals who are not enrolled in a course and actively taking that course are not allowed in the Academy facilities. Family and friends will not be allowed to wait inside the facility while you take the course.
Course tuition does not include range fees, which are approximately $ 25.00, and paid at the range. You, the student, must purchase your own ammunition for your handgun before you attend class on Day 2, and expect to fire 50 rounds. On Day 2, after completing the classroom section of the course at the academy, students will drive to a nearby suburban range to complete the live-fire section of this course.
Upon completion of the classroom portion of the course, students will travel to a designated range in the north/western suburbs (determined by date of the class) for the live-fire portion of the course.
Students must provide their own transportation to and from the range facility.
Instructors will inspect your firearm for proper function and maintenance. No student will be allowed to use any firearm deemed unsafe by an instructor, range officer or armorer.
It is important that the student listen carefully to the instructions given by the instructor(s) and range safety officers. Any individual that engages in unsafe behavior or refuses to listen to the staff instructor(s) will immediately be ejected from the range and the course. No refund will be issued.
Prospective students for this course must register online for the specific class date they wish to attend. This will allow the academy to ensure seating and class materials for every student. Only students that register online will have a seat reserved for that class.
Registration is to hold a reserved seat for a student in a specific class, and is not refundable. If a student is unable to attend a course date, the tuition paid may be credited to a different class date or different course.
Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions On The “Firearm Concealed Carry Act”
[This section has been created to answer many of the common questions about the “Firearm Concealed Carry Act”. This FAQ does not constitute nor should it be construed as legal advice, and for detailed legal advice on this act, and the related laws, contact your lawyer. Sections of the act below have been edited for brevity.]
What About The Chicago Firearm Permit Program?
The Chicago Police Gun Registration Section has informed us that they will no longer process Chicago Firearm Permits or renewals for anfirearms.
What About Police Officers and Security Officers?
An individual who has been certified as a peace officer is exempt from all 16 hours of training required for the permit.
A certified, armed security officer who has completed both the 20 hour Basic Course and the 20 hour Armed Course, and has an active “Firearms Control Card” is exempt from the 16 hours of training, required for the permit.
I Have A Chicago Firearm Permit. How Will This Concealed Carry Law Affect That?
The “Firearm Concealed Carry Act”, which became law this past June, eliminates all city and county handgun ordinances and laws. Laws affecting handgun types, handgun magazines, handgun ammunition and all regulation, licensing, ownership and such regarding handguns at the local level, will be eliminated. This only affects handguns and NOT shotguns or rifles.
More Frequently Asked Questions
From The Illinois State Police Website
||Firearms Courses Acceptable for Credit Towards The Illinois CCW Permit Training Requirement
Below is information put forth by the Illinois State Police on firearms Courses that can be credited towards the 8 hours of previous firearms training. Only up to eight hours of previous training can be credited. Applicants having eight hours of previous training from courses listed below, will still be required to take a one-day, 8 hour course. At Fidelity Academy, that would be our “Illinois Concealed Carry Day 2 Course”.
Illinois State Police Website
September 30, 2013
Below is a list of training courses acceptable to satisfy the prior training requirements, consistent with Section 75(i) of the Act, and the appropriate credit to be applied for each. It is the responsibility of the instructor to verify successful completion of prior training and apply credit as listed.
Once this credit is combined with additional training hours provided by the instructor, the approved ILCCF Instructor will certify the 16 – hours were met. Approved ILCCF Instructors should inform applicants how much credit they will receive for their prior training and remind them the prior training certificates must be submitted with the ILCCF Training Certificate when they apply.
This list will be updated as additional courses are submitted and approved by the Department.
Course Title Acceptable Credit
Illinois Hunter Safety Course 4 hours
Utah Concealed Carry 4 hours
Florida Concealed Carry 4 hours
Nevada Concealed Carry 4 hours
Missouri Concealed Carry 4 hours
Kentucky Concealed Carry 4 hours
Michigan Concealed Carry 4 hours
Chicago Firearms Course 4 hours
NRA Basic Pistol 8 hours
NRA Personal Protection in the Home 8 hours
NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home 8 hours
Per the Act, Section 75.g. “Any remaining hours that the applicant completes must at least cover the classroom subject matter of paragraph (4) of subsection (b) of this Section, and the range qualification in subsection (c) of this Section.”
To submit a training course for recognition by the Department, please complete the Curriculum Application and attach the basic course outline and a department letter from the other state that recognized the course
Everyone who wants to carry a concealed firearm on his/her person in Illinois is required to have an Illinois Concealed Carry License except current peace officers and retired police officers eligible under a federally approved retired officer concealed carry program such as the Illinois Retired Officer Concealed Carry (IROCC) Program. Retired officers may be eligible to carry under either the IROCC Program or the Firearm Concealed Carry Act (430 ILCS 66).
Generally, an Unlawful Use of Weapons first offense is a Class A Misdemeanor and a second or subsequent offense is a Class 3 Felony; however, there are penalty enhancements for certain locations (for example on or within 1,000 feet of any school, public park, courthouse, public transportation facility, or residential public housing). Further, an Aggravated Unlawful Use of Weapons first offense is a Class 4 Felony and a second or subsequent offense is a Class 2 Felony.
No. Out-of-state residents who want to carry a concealed firearm on their person must obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry License to lawfully carry a concealed firearm in Illinois. In order for out-of-state residents to be eligible for an Illinois license, their state’s concealed carry license laws must be substantially similar to those of Illinois. The Illinois State Police will establish rules to identify the elements necessary to meet the substantially similar requirement.Out of state residents are granted a limited exception to lawfully carry a concealed firearm within a vehicle if they are eligible to carry a firearm in public under the laws of their state or territory of residence and are not prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm under federal law. This rule became effective immediately.If the non-resident leaves his/her vehicle unattended, he or she shall store the firearm within a locked vehicle or locked container within the vehicle in accordance with subsection (b) of Section 65 of the Firearm Concealed Carry Act.
Will Illinois Concealed Carry License holders have reciprocity in other states?
This will be determined by the laws of the 49 other states. Illinois Concealed Carry License holders who want to conceal and carry in other states are responsible for researching the state laws to where they are traveling.
Will persons be allowed to open carry?
No. A handgun carried on or about a person must be concealed from view of the public or on or about a person within a vehicle.
Where can business owners or property owners obtain information about required signage?
The ISP will establish administrative rules consistent with the Firearm Concealed Carry Act. Updates will be posted to the ISP webpage as information about the rule making process becomes available.
What is the parking lot exemption for CCL holders in prohibited places?
Notwithstanding any prohibition to the contrary – except those pertaining to property regulated by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission or where firearms are prohibited under federal law, any licensee prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm into the parking area of a prohibited location shall be permitted to carry a concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area and may store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plain view within the vehicle in the parking area. A licensee may carry a concealed firearm in the immediate area surrounding his or her vehicle within a prohibited parking lot area only for the limited purpose of storing or retrieving a firearm within the vehicles trunk , provided the licensee ensures the concealed firearm is unloaded prior to exiting the vehicle.
What is the cost for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
$150 for 5 years for Illinois residents
$300 for 5 years for out-of-state residents
How does a citizen apply for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
The ISP will make applications available to the public by January 5, 2014. The ISP intends to have applications available via the ISP webpage. Additional information regarding the application and fingerprinting process will be added to this website at the time applications are made available.
How long will it take a citizen to obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
Upon receipt of a qualified application, the ISP shall issue or deny the applicant an Illinois Concealed Carry License within 90 days, provided the applicant submits a full set of fingerprints in electronic format. If fingerprints are not submitted in electronic format, the ISP is granted an additional 30 days to complete a manual background check. In all cases, law enforcement agencies will have 30 days to file an objection once an application is received.
What are the qualifications for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
The applicant must:
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Have a valid FOID card (if an Illinois resident)
- Have not been convicted or found guilty in Illinois or any other state of:
- A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the last 5 years
- 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the last 5 years
- Not be the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification
- Not have been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the last 5 years
- Submit a completed Concealed Carry License application
- Successfully complete 16 hours of firearms training, including classroom and range instruction.
What type of firearm will I be allowed to carry concealed?
A “Concealed firearm” is defined as a handgun
.“Handgun” means any device which is designed to expel a projectile or projectiles by the action of an explosion, expansion of gas, or escape of gas that is designed to be held and fired by the use of a single hand.”Handgun” does not include:”
- A stun gun or taser;
- A machine gun as defined in item (i) of paragraph (7) of subsection (a) of Section 24-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012;
- A short-barreled rifle or shotgun as defined in item (ii) of paragraph (7) of subsection (a) of Section 24-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012
- Any pneumatic gun, spring gun, paint ball gun, or B-B gun which expels a single globular projectile not exceeding .18 inch in diameter, or which has a maximum muzzle velocity of less than 700 feet per second, or which expels breakable paint balls containing washable marking colors.
Where can I go to be fingerprinted?
Concealed Carry License applicants are required to submit fingerprints for non-criminal justice purposes through a Licensed Illinois Livescan Vendor.
Can I go to a police department to be fingerprinted?
Questions regarding whether a local police department can submit Livescan fingerprints for noncriminal justice purposes should be directed to your local police department.
I had my fingerprints taken for a previous job, can I use the same TCN for my Concealed Carry application?
No. New fingerprints must be submitted with the ISP form.
What do I do if the system indicates my TCN is a duplicate?
When will ISP begin posting a registry of approved instructors on its website?
The ISP has posted a registry of approved instructors on its website and will add additional instructors as they are vetted through the background process and approved.
What is public storage?
Public Storage is intended to cover instances where applicants are asked or have a need to store their weapon in a private business. For example, storage in a locker at the gym or in a hotel room.
What is dry fire draw from concealment and why is it required?
It is just like live fire draw from concealment only without the live round and is intended to afford applicants the opportunity to become proficient at safe weapons handling.
When will ISP begin posting a list of approved curriculum on its website?
The ISP will begin posting a list of approved curriculum on its website as soon as the first curriculum is reviewed and approved.
Once the curriculum is listed as approved, must it be taught by an approved instructor in order for the applicants to get credit for the training?
Yes, generally speaking, approved curriculum must be taught by an approved instructor. There is an exception for people who qualify for up to 8 hours of credit for prior training, which is explained in further detail within the Training Questions.
Where can citizens obtain firearms training?
On August 30, 2013, the ISP began approval of certified firearms instructors and firearm training courses. A registry of approved instructors is available on the ISP webpage and will be updated as additional instructors are approved. A list of approved courses will be available on the ISP webpage as soon as the curriculum is approved. There are currently no approved courses.PLEASE NOTE: On-duty ISP officers will NOT provide training to citizens, nor will ISP ranges be used.
What does the firearms training course consist of?
The required 16-hour firearms training course will include range qualification time and shall cover the following:
- Firearms Safety Instruction – a minimum of two (2) classroom hours;
- Basic Principles of Marksmanship Instruction – a minimum of three (3) classroom and range hours;
- Care, Cleaning , Loading and Unloading of a Concealable Firearm Instruction- a minimum of three (3) classroom hours;
- All applicable State and Federal Laws Relating to the Ownership, Storage, Carry and Transportation of a Firearm Instruction- a minimum of four (4) classroom hours; and
- Weapons Handling – a minimum of four (4) range hours
All applicants must pass a live fire exercise with a concealable firearm consisting of:
- A minimum of 30 rounds
- 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards, 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards, and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the ISP.
Is anyone exempt from the training requirements in the Act?
Yes, a person who is (i) qualified to carry a firearm as an active law enforcement officer, (ii) certified as a firearms instructor by the Act or by the Illinois Law Enforcement Training Standards Board, or (iii) has completed the required training and has been issued a firearm control card (FCC or Tan Card) by the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation shall be exempt from the training requirements in the Act.
Who can get credit for up to 8 hours of prior training (from either previous courses or experience)?
Active, retired, and honorably discharged members of the United States Armed Forces shall be considered to have completed 8 hours of the 16 hour training requirement and applicants who have completed a training course that is approved by the Department and recognized under the laws of another state may get up to 8 hours of training toward the 16 hour training requirement.
What information/documentation will veterans need to provide to receive credit for 8 hours of training?
A copy of their DD-214.
Who decides whether to give credit for prior training and how much to give?
Approved Instructors. In an effort to give instructors greater discretion regarding the proficiency of their students, this decision will be made by the individual instructors. The Department will provide a list of approved curriculum to assist individual instructors with this decision.
If a person receives up to 8 hours of credit, what are they required to take in addition to fulfill the 16 hour training requirement under the Act?
Any remaining hours that the applicant completes must at least cover applicable State and Federal Laws Relating to the Ownership, Storage, Carry and Transportation of a Firearm Instruction as well as Weapons Handling.
Can an applicant take 8 hours from one instructor and another 8 hours from another instructor?
Yes, so long as all of the training was based upon approved curriculum and they cover all of the subjects required by the 16 hour curriculum.
Is everyone required to go through exactly the same (or a cookie cutter) program?
No. The ISP encourages the instructors to teach to proficiency. Minimum hours of instruction have been included as a guide to ensure proficiency; however, the exact make-up of the training will be at the discretion of the individual instructors.
Do the instructors have any discretion on how to teach based upon the skill level of the applicant?
Yes. See the answer above.
Why are there time lines established in the ISP rules regarding the training required?
The time lines established are geared to ensure novice shooters are given a broad base of varied disciplines but are written as minimums to ensure proficiency for all applicants regardless of skill set.
Do applicants have to own their own equipment before they can take a training class?
No. That is between the applicant and the instructor they select.
Is there a phone number I can call if I have questions which are not addressed on this website?
Yes, however, you will only be able to leave a message regarding your question, which will be addressed through an update to the Frequently Asked Questions. Individual calls will not be returned. Inquiries consistent with this may be directed to: (217) 782-7980.
Where Will I Not Be Able To Carry My Firearm?
A licensee under this Act shall not knowingly carry a firearm on or into:
(1) Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a public or private elementary or secondary school.
(2) Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a pre-school or child care facility, including any room or portion of a building under the control of a pre-school or child care facility. Nothing in this paragraph shall prevent the operator of a child care facility in a family home from owning or possessing a firearm in the home or license under this Act, if no child under child care at the home is present in the home or the firearm in the home is stored in a locked container when a child under child care at the home is present in the home.
(3) Any building, parking area, or portion of a building under the control of an officer of the executive or legislative branch of government, provided that nothing in this paragraph shall prohibit a licensee from carrying a concealed firearm onto the real property, bikeway, or trail in a park regulated by the Department of Natural Resources or any other designated public hunting area or building where firearm possession is permitted as established by the Department of Natural Resources under Section 1.8 of the Wildlife Code.
(4) Any building designated for matters before a circuit court, appellate court, or the Supreme Court, or any building or portion of a building under the control of the Supreme Court.
(5) Any building or portion of a building under the control of a unit of local government.
(6) Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of an adult or juvenile detention or correctional institution, prison, or jail.
(7) Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a public or private hospital or hospital affiliate, mental health facility, or nursing home.
(8) Any bus, train, or form of transportation paid for in whole or in part with public funds, and any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a public transportation facility paid for in whole or in part with public funds.
(9) Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of an establishment that serves alcohol on its premises, if more than 50% of the establishment’s gross receipts within the prior 3 months is from the sale of alcohol. The owner of an establishment who knowingly fails to prohibit concealed firearms on its premises as provided in this paragraph or who knowingly makes a false statement or record to avoid the prohibition on concealed firearms under this paragraph is subject to the penalty under subsection (c-5) of Section 10-1 of the Liquor Control Act of 1934.
(10) Any public gathering or special event conducted on property open to the public that requires the issuance of a permit from the unit of local government, provided this prohibition shall not apply to a licensee who must walk through a public gathering in order to access his or her residence, place of business, or vehicle.
(11) Any building or real property that has been issued a Special Event Retailer’s license as defined in Section 1-3.17.1 of the Liquor Control Act during the time designated for the sale of alcohol by the Special Event Retailer’s license, or a Special use permit license as defined in subsection (q) of Section 5-1 of the Liquor Control Act during the time designated for the sale of alcohol by the Special use permit license.
(12) Any public playground.
(13) Any public park, athletic area, or athletic facility under the control of a municipality or park district, provided nothing in this Section shall prohibit a licensee from carrying or bikeway if only a portion of the trail or bikeway includes a public park.
(14) Any real property under the control of the Cook County Forest Preserve District.
(15) Any building, classroom, laboratory, medical clinic, hospital, artistic venue, athletic venue, entertainment venue, officially recognized university-related organization property, whether owned or leased, and any real property, including parking areas, sidewalks, and common areas under the control of a public or private community college, college, or university.
(16) Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of a gaming facility licensed under the Riverboat Gambling Act or the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975, including an inter-track wagering location licensee.
(17) Any stadium, arena, or the real property or parking area under the control of a stadium, arena, or any collegiate or professional sporting event.
(18) Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of a public library.
(19) Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of an airport.
(20) Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of an amusement park.
(21) Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of a zoo or museum.
(22) Any street, driveway, parking area, property, building, or facility, owned, leased, controlled, or used by a nuclear energy, storage, weapons, or development site or facility regulated by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission. The licensee shall not under any circumstance store a firearm or ammunition in his or her vehicle or in a compartment or container within a vehicle located anywhere in or on the street, driveway, parking area, property, building, or facility described in this paragraph.
(23) Any area where firearms are prohibited under federal law.
What About Private Property?
The owner of private real property of any type may prohibit the carrying of concealed firearms on the property under his or her control. The owner must post a sign in accordance with the law indicating that firearms are prohibited on the property, unless the property is a private residence.
What Is This “Safe Harbor” I Heard About?
Notwithstanding other sections of the Firearm Concealed Carry Act, any licensee prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm into the parking area of a prohibited location specified in the Firearm Concealed Carry Act shall be permitted to carry a concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area and may store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plain view within the vehicle in the parking area.
A licensee may carry a concealed firearm in the immediate area surrounding his or her vehicle within a prohibited parking lot area only for the limited purpose of storing or retrieving a firearm within the vehicle’s trunk, provided the licensee ensures the concealed firearm is unloaded prior to exiting the vehicle. For purposes of this subsection, “case” includes a glove compartment or console that completely encloses the concealed firearm or ammunition, the trunk of the vehicle, or a firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other container.
A licensee shall not be in violation of this Section while he or she is traveling along a public right of way that touches or crosses any of the premises prohibited under the Firearm Concealed Carry Act if the concealed firearm is carried on his or her person in accordance with the provisions of this Act or is being transported in a vehicle by the licensee in accordance with all other applicable provisions of law.
How Will I Know An Area Is Prohibited?
Signs stating that the carrying of firearms is prohibited shall be clearly and conspicuously posted at the entrance of a building, premises, or real property, unless the building or premises is a private residence. Signs shall be of a uniform design as established by the Department and shall be 4 inches by 6 inches in size.